http://www.nytimes.com/2006/02/21/education/21professors.html

In 2006, the New York Times wrote an article about students emailing professors. Reading it, I was a bit astonished to find myself guilty of many email sins. But, then i am remembered that I have grace, so it’s okay. More importantly, I have reasons for emailing. And here they are…

1. I am a female. You may wonder what gender has to do with email. Well, when you have a non-female professor, email is safe. Honestly, I am feel uncomfortable with office hours if it is a male professor. I get nervous, sick to my stomach, and don’t sleep the entire week before hand. Why would I want to subject myself willing to that, when email will suffice?

2. My personality comes out in my email. Meaning, I love to write to encourage people. Cards and notes are a bit out dated and expensive when you have a lot of people to encourage. So, emails are great!

3. Jesus would totally email.

4. It helps me remember things. Again, because of the nerves, I never remember what a professor has said. So, I email. This covers two bases–I have a record. I SAVE every email (muhaha) so I can remember things.

5. Unprofessional, whatev. I choose to have grace with myself and with my professors. If everyone is always so concerned about being professional, books would never be written, tears of blood and sweat would never be shed. Umm… yeah…

FLASHBACKING… to memories of creative writing happenings… and I am supposed to be professional? The things I’ve seen these people do. ROLLS EYES HUGELY AND INTENTIONALLY…

More later, I could go on, but I think that email is important. And, yes, there are times to be very VERY professional. I get that, especially as a current faculty member, but I also get that sometimes you need to be human. Email is great for that. I’m okay with that.

