In avoiding my studying that I need to do for comps, I chose to read a few research articles on alternative reality games (ARGs). The following are my comments/thoughts on the articles and/or good or interesting ideas which I pulled from them

 I am also considering making the book Dungeons and Dreamers: The Rise of Computer Game Culture From Geek to Chic my main text. I don’t know, though, because I haven’t read the book, but the authors of one of the articles I read seem quite intelligent and on top of things. So… we’ll see.

In the mean time…

Williams, Mark. “Jane McGonigal, 28.” Technology Review. Sep. 2006. Vol. 109. Issue 4. p. 50.

This article focuses on Jane McGonigal an intellectual/game developer. She discusses the idea that ARGs use network technologies such as electronic mail, web sites, Internet chat rooms, text messages, and phone calls to construct new types of communities whose collective intelligence lets them solve problems no member can solve alone.

Question: Can my final project be an “alone” adventure? Or does the notion of creating an ARG automatically negate any form of “aloneness”? Ideas?

Herold, Charles. “A Sick Killer Has Pac-Man Fever.” The New York Times. July 22, 2004. p. 8.

This article compares and contrasts the following ARGs: Missing: Since January, Aware, Aura: Fate of the Ages, Psi-Ops: Mindgate Conspiracy.

Note to self: Do not assume that those who like intellectual searching also like methodical searching.

Borland, John and Brad King. “Bees, ARGs, and the Birth of the Collective Detective.” Phi Kappa Phi Forum. Summer 2005. Vol 85. Issue 2. p. 21-24.

Stewart: “We were placing a bet that we could put an ad in a newspaper in Uzbekistan, and some kind in Iowa will be analyzing it that afternoon. That’s what the Internet means.”

Ilovebees was created in early 2001.

Jordan Weisman got a call and came up with the question, “What if that was the game calling you?”

Question: Again, can I allow my players to do this alone? The idea of the “collective detective” seems to be an important reality in ARGs and I want to be true to that. Further, a continuous thread of conversation within class has spoken to that idea. Is it fair to not think ‘community centric’ when I start creating this. But, HOW? I don’t have enough resources, I don’t think to make this a community centric game. Hmm… plotting, plotting.

